Pádraigín Ní Uallacháin - Seven Daughters of the Sea album cover

Pádraigín Ní Uallacháin to release 10th Studio album, ‘Seven Daughters of the Sea’

CD available for shipping or immediate download now.

Officially launching January 10 2024.

One of the most prolific traditional singers in Ireland, this is Pádraigín Ní Uallacháin’s tenth studio recording. It is an album of new compositions.

Her collaboration with Steve Vai goes back over ten years since he recorded one of her songs Mullach a’ tSí on his album The Story of Light (2012). This extraordinary collaboration comes full circle on the title track with the sounds of ancient Irish culture merging with contemporary musical rhythms, while invoking a cosmic blessing on a troubled world. 

Although firmly rooted in Irish traditional music influences, it has a contemporary and transcultural aspect through the inclusion of international musicians – the celebrated US guitar player Steve Vai, Indian classical Bansuri player Rajat PrasannaSteve Cooney from Australia/Ireland, Irish musicians Dónal O’Connor and Macdara Ó Graham and Fin Moore from Scotland.

The various strands merge to bridge the space between the known and unknown, ancient and contemporary, male and female.  Themes of tradition, exile, love, ancient rituals and deities, early literature and world music inspire these new compositions. Woven through SEVEN DAUGHTERS OF THE SEA are songs and chants invoking the Earth Mother in all her forms and manifestations as nature, landscape, Brigid, the Cailleach, water, Buí the summer goddess, Spring, the otherworld and a keen of sorrow, while also honouring the inherent masculine gifts of strength, honour, loyalty and wisdom.

Pádraigín Ní Uallacháin is unique in having recorded two albums of new compositions in her native Irish language, including this her most recent, SEVEN DAUGHTERS OF THE SEA (2023). The CD and MP3s included a 28 page Booklet with lyrics, translations and notes.

Pádraigín Ní Uallacháin:  Singer/Composer
Dónal O’ Connor: Producer


Steve Cooney:   Guitars/Percussion
Rajat Prasanna:   Bansuri
Dónal O’Connor:   Multi Instruments
Steve Vai:   Electric Guitar
Macdara Ó Graham:  Vocals
Fin Moore:  Pipes